Vehicle Impound Information
Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §28-3511
, the Yuma County Sheriff’s Office will impound your vehicle if ANY
of the following apply:
- The driver's driving privilege is suspended or revoked for any reason.
- The driver has never been issued a driver’s license or permit by the State of Arizona or by any other jurisdiction.
- The driver is subject to an ignition interlock device requirement and was operating a vehicle without a functioning certified ignition interlock device.
- The driver is transporting or moving or attempting to transport or move an illegal alien in a vehicle.
- A person is concealing, harboring, or shielding from detection an illegal alien in a vehicle.
- The driver has a revoked, suspended or canceled driver’s license or has never been issued a driver's license by the State of Arizona or any other jurisdiction AND there is no evidence of mandatory vehicle insurance and vehicle registration AND the driver of the vehicle was in an accident with property damage, injury or death of another person.
- The driver is arrested for Underage DUI (§4-244), Extreme DUI (§28-1382) or Aggravated DUI (§28-1383).
Vehicles towed under ARS §28-3511 are impounded for 30 days.
Post Storage Hearing
The owner of a vehicle that is impounded, the spouse of the owner and any other person identified on the MVD record with an interest in the vehicle, may request a Post Storage Hearing (Arizona Revised Statutes §28-3514
) within ten (10) days from the date of the Vehicle Impoundment Notice for the sole purpose of determining the validity of the impoundment or to determine whether the vehicle may be released before the end of the 30-day period. A post storage hearing with the Patrol Support Officer must take place to obtain an Impound Vehicle Release.
The hearing request may be by phone at (928) 783-4427, by fax at (928) 539-7837 or in writing to: Yuma County Sheriff’s Office, Vehicle Impoundment, 141 S. 3rd Avenue, Yuma, AZ 85364
Yuma County Sheriff's Office
141 S. 3rd Avenue
Yuma, AZ 85364
Hearings are held on a "walk-in" first come/first served basis, Monday-Friday, between the hours of 1:00-4:00 PM (excluding holidays).
Requirements & Fees
- The owner or owner’s spouse must present a valid driver’s license, current vehicle registration and current vehicle insurance.
- A $150.00 administrative fee is payable in cash or major credit card only at the time of the hearing. No other form of payment will be accepted.
- Take your release paperwork, identification, and proof of vehicle ownership to the tow company and pay any tow/storage fees directly to the tow company. NOTE: By Arizona law, tow companies are not required to release vehicles after normal business hours; doing so could result in a gate fee.
FYI: Arizona law allows tow companies to file for an abandoned title to seek ownership of the vehicle if it is left at the tow yard, unclaimed, for more than 10 days past the 30-day impoundment period. If you have difficulty paying for the tow and storage fees, you should contact the tow company if you wish to retain ownership of your vehicle.
Release of Vehicle
Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §28-3512, subsection A, the Yuma County Sheriff's Office may release a vehicle to the registered owner before the end of the thirty day impoundment period under any of the following circumstances:
- There is evidence that the vehicle was stolen and reported to a law enforcement agency at the time it was impounded.
- The vehicle is subject to bailment and is driven by an employee of a business establishment, including a parking service or repair garage, who is subject to section 28‑3511, subsection A, B or C.
- The owner was operating the vehicle at the time of impoundment and presents satisfactory proof that the owner's driving privilege has been reinstated.
- The owner or the owner's spouse was not the person driving the vehicle at the time of impoundment AND the owner or the owner's spouse is in the business of renting motor vehicles without drivers AND the vehicle is registered.
- For the spouse of the owner or any person who is identified as an owner of the vehicle on the MVD records at the time of impoundment, if the spouse or person was not the driver of the vehicle at the time of impoundment and the spouse or person enters into an “Agreement of Operation” with the YCSO that stipulates that if the spouse or person allows a driver who does not have a valid driving privilege or a driver who commits a violation that causes the spouse's or person's vehicle to be impounded within one year after the agreement is signed by the YCSO, the spouse or person will not be eligible to obtain release of the spouse's or person's vehicle before the end of the thirty day impoundment period.
Other Than Owner
Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes §28-3512, subsection D, the Yuma County Sheriff's Office may release a vehicle to a person, other than the owner, identified on the MVD record as having an interest in the vehicle before the end of the thirty day impoundment period if all of the following conditions are met:
For more information...
- The person is in the business of renting motor vehicles without drivers and the vehicle is registered pursuant to ARS §28‑2166.
- The person is a motor vehicle dealer, bank, credit union or acceptance corporation that holds a security interest in the vehicle.
- The person pays all towing and storage charges related to the impoundment of the vehicle and any administrative charges established pursuant to section 28‑3513 unless the vehicle is stolen and the theft was reported to the appropriate law enforcement agency. If the vehicle is stolen and the theft was reported to the appropriate law enforcement agency, the operator of the vehicle at the time of impoundment is responsible for all towing, storage and administrative charges.
- The person presents foreclosure documents or an affidavit of repossession of the vehicle.
- The person requesting release of the vehicle was not the person driving the vehicle at the time of impoundment.
Regarding vehicle impounds, contact the Yuma County Sheriff’s Office’s Records Department at (928) 329-2254 and/or the Patrol Support Officer.